A HISTORY OF SUCCESS
In 1957 local parents were interested in forming a soccer club and so began the history of Ermington Sport. Ermington soccer was the brain child of four men - George Mannix, Bill Murphy, Fred Dixon and Ted Turner.
Ermington Soccer initially used Cowells Lane and George Kendall Reserve which in those days consisted of one field adjacant to the rubbish tip!
In 1960, Betty Mannix recalls an interesting club fund-raiser at her home. Numbers were expected to be around 60-80 people; however to Bett's recollection, nearly half the population of Ermington attended - and police had to close off Spofforth Street to control numbers!!
By 1961, it was decided that numbers and interests were increasing to such an extent, that additional sports needed to be represented, so a sports and Recreation Club was initiated.
The first AGM was held on Australia Day, 26th January, 1961. Meetings of our original club were held in the garages of our founding members, as no club-house was available. The constitution was a few years coming and was finally ratified by the founding members in March 1965.
A lot has happened since 1957 and today the Ermington Club is operated by a highly organised and capable committe of hard working volunteers. These people are the pillars of our community working often without thanks.
The result, a strong club of families and characters all lovers of sport and especially soccer. We welcome new members to come along and experience the Ermintonn way.
Please join our newsletter list below to keep up to date on events at Ermington and in touch with the many and varied personalities that help to make us great.